International Day of Medical Physics (IDMP) Award winner | AFOMP General Secretary

06-01-19 admin 0 comment

From BANGLADESH Prof. Dr. Hasin Anupama Azhari

Since 2013, Medical Physicists from all over the world have celebrated the “International Day of Medical Physics (IDMP)” on November 7, the birthday of Marie Sklodowska-Curie. The IDMP award is given to one Medical Physicist from each IOMP Regional Organization and recognizes excellence in Medical Physics to a larger audience and highlighting the contributions medical physicists make for patient care.

From AFOMP region  Prof. Dr. Hasin Anupama Azhari from Bangladesh is nominated for the IDMP award

Winners from the other IOMP regions include:

Jamila Salem Humaid Ali MEFOMP
Renato Padovani EFOMP
Kavuma Awusi FAMPO
Hasin Anupama Azhari AFOMP  (FROM BANGLADESH)
María Ester Brandan ALFIM
Caridad Borrás AAPM


Congratulations To Prof. Dr. Hasin Anupama Azhari





AFOMP General Secretary


In Asia –Oceania Federation of organization for Medical Physics (AFOMP)  council meeting was held  on 18th AOCMP and 14th SEACOMP conference at Kuala Lumpur during 11-14 November 2018. During this AFOMP council meeting a new executive officers are elected for the 2018-2021 term.


From Bangladesh Professor Dr. Hasin Anupama Azhari has been awarded as a secretary general of AFOMP for the 2018-2021 terms. For this term the other officers are  is Prof Dr Arun Chougulae (President, India), Prof Dr Eva Bezak (Vice President, Australia), Dr Kwan -Hoong  Ng (Treasurer, Malaysia), Dr. Tae-Suk Suh (Past President, Korea).


The aim and objectives of AFOMP are cooperation and communication,, activities, between MP organization in the region. It also promote the advancement in status and standard of practice of the mp profession, sponsor national and international conferences. During her tenure, she would like to continue the work of the precedence by using existing structure and to develop medical physics status in the underdeveloped region by promoting education, training and current research in this field.